When Schuler Benson’s flip phone glitched and logged him into a strangers Facebook account, he had no idea that a few years later he would be marrying the woman…

Back in 2009, Schuler opened his Facebook app to go and check up on his account, but a glitch logged him straight into Celeste Zendler’s account instead.

He had no idea who the woman was, and found himself trapped in her account, unable to log himself out.

Benson shared his story online, saying:

Six years ago today, a glitch in Facebook mobile logged me into the account of a woman I’d never met. We were married this past June. I opened the browser, went to facebook.com, and wasn’t even given a chance to enter any login information. I was already logged in. I had to make several posts in order to find out I wasn’t logged into my own account.

Celeste was from Colorado and was shocked to learn that someone was using her account.

She and I had never met, never lived in the same state, had no mutual friends in real life or online, shared no Facebook interests. For some reason, I was unable to logout of her account. And every time I logged in from my phone for the entire week, I found myself in Celeste’s account.

The pair found themselves communicating with each other through Celeste’s statuses.

They got around the issue after Celeste added Schuler as a friend. He found himself logged back into his own account, and able to go back to his own things.

Originally, Celeste planned to delete the stranger, but she found him interesting.

They met in June 2013 for the first time, and Celeste soon relocated to Arkansas.

Schuler decided to propose in 2014 by hacking into Celeste’s account again and posting a photo of the engagement ring.

He said:

I’m coming back here. Celeste, I’m hacking into your Facebook account for the second time (on purpose for the first time ;)) to ask you a question….Will you marry me?

They then married in June 2015.

Schuler concludes:

I found my partner, my best friend, my great love via a simple glitch in social media. There are awful things in this world, but sometimes there’s beauty, too.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

