George Lucas with a Stormtrooper in 2005

When The Force Awakens was released after so much anticipation, it was no surprised that is was greeted with raving reviews…

Suddenly, everyone who loved Star Wars was excited again. The risk of a new film after such a long time had people nervous, anticipated, but it did not disappoint.

And whilst everyone else loved the new film, it seems George Lucas didn’t.

In a rant against Disney, who now own the rights to Star Wars, George branded them ‘white slavers’. george_lucas

The filmmaker, who is responsible for Star Wars and Indiana Jones, sold his company LucasFilm to Disney for $4billion in 2012.

But despite the money, he isn’t happy with Disney.

He claims that when Disney were finalising the script for the new instalment of Star Wars, all of his ideas were ignored.

Speaking to talk show host Charlie Rose, George says he wanted the plot to be about family, but Disney wanted a different direction.

Disney said we want to make the new trilogy for the fans. So I said all I wanted to do is tell the story of what happened. You know, it started here and it went there. It’s all about generations and it’s about the issues of fathers and sons and grandfathers – it’s a family soap opera, I mean, ultimately. We call it a space opera, but people don’t realise it’s actually a soap opera. It’s all about family problems. It’s not about spaceships.

But because of different opinions, George’s involvement in the film was limited.

So they decided they didn’t want to use those stories. They decided they were going to go do their own thing. I decided, fine, but basically they weren’t that keen to have me involved, anyway.

ticket

He continued:

But at the same time if I get in there, I’m just gonna cause trouble, because they’re not gonna do what I want them to do. And I don’t have the control to do that anymore – all I would do is muck everything up. So I said, Okay, I will go my way, and I’ll let them go their way. These are my kids. I loved them, I created them, I’m very intimately involved with them, and I sold them to the white slavers that take these things and …

George seemingly decided it was best not to continue and let the sentence trail off.

The Force Awakens became the fastest movie ever to bring in $1billion at the box office.

What do you think of George’s opinion?

Leave a Reply

